Answers to Common Questions

  • Where can I find the Missouri Dental Board General Rules? HERE

  • When and how often do I have to update my Dental Hygiene License?

    • Every 2 years in November of the even year.​

  • How much does it cost to renew my license?

    • $60. ​

  • How many Continue Education (CE) credits do I need? 

    • 30 hours during the two (2)-year period immediately preceding the renewal period.​

  • I got more than 30 CEs in my last renewal period. Can any of those hours carry over?

    • Yes, up to 15 hours. 

  • I renewed my license. Do I really need to keep these old CE certificates?

    • Yes, keep those for 6 years!​

  • Who can I take CE hours through?

    • Check here to see which sponsors are board approved.​

  • Can I practice dental hygiene without a dentist present in Missouri? 

  • Does a patient have to have an exam by the dentist each time?

    • As long as the patient is established as a patient of record and has an exam by the dentist within 12 months, it is fine to proceed with hygiene services without an exam.

    • ​Please refer to the Dental Practice Act, page 3 (6) "Patient of Record" for more detailed information. 

  • Can I provide local anesthesia to my patient if the dentist is not present in the building?

    • No, a dentist must be present to provide this service.

  • If you have questions or need help understanding the Missouri Dental Practice Act, contact the Missouri Dental Board

© 2018 by Missouri Dental Hygienists' Association